Skip to content

IIC Award Cermony Successfully Completed

The Innovate Sri Lanka 2021/2022 awards ceremony took place on May 25th, 2023, at the Senate boardroom of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura. The event, organized by the IIVC Council of the University, was a celebration of innovation and entrepreneurial spirit among the staff and students of the University.The IIVC Council, co-chaired by Prof. Lasith Gunawardena and Dr. Nilushi Nugara, played a crucial role in driving this competition forward. 

The competition garnered an overwhelming response, with 202 innovation proposals received during the first stage. These proposals showcased the immense talent and innovative potential of the University’s community. After a meticulous selection process, 59 projects were chosen to advance to the highly anticipated second round. Among them, the IIVC Council provided funding for 31  projects, enabling their creators to transform their ideas into reality.

The awards ceremony welcomed esteemed guests, including the Chairman of the University Grant Commission, Prof. Sampath Amarathunge, who served as the chief guest. Snr. Prof.  Sampath Amaratunge was not only a key figure in the initiation of the IIVC Council but also the visionary behind the Innovate Sri Lanka competition itself. The event was also attended by the Acting Vice Chancellor, Prof. Upul Subasingha, Deans of the faculties, and members of the IIVC Council, adding further prestige to the occasion.

The highlight of the ceremony was the announcement of the overall winner. The project “Sani-Fly” from the Faculty of Management Studies emerged victorious, earning the coveted title of the competition’s top innovation. This year marked the second edition of Innovate Sri Lanka, further solidifying its status as a platform that nurtures and promotes innovation within the University.

This event marks another successful chapter in the University’s commitment to fostering a culture of innovation and pushing boundaries for a better future